Picture of Melvin Jones

Founder of Lions Club International
Melvin Jones was born on January 13, 1879 in Fort Thomas, Arizona, the son of a United States Army captain, who commanded a troop of scouts. Later his father was transferred and the family moved east. As a young man, Melvin Jones, made his home in Chicago, Illinois, became associated with an insurance firm and in 1913 formed his own agency.  He soon joined the Business Circle, a businessmen's luncheon group, and was shortly elected secretary. This group was one of many at that time devoted solely to promoting the financial interests of their membership. Because of their limited appeal, they were destined to disappear.  Melvin Jones, however, had other plans.  "What if these men" he asked, "who are successful because of their drive, intelligence and ambition, were to put their talents to work improving their communities?"  Thus, at his invitation, delegates from men's clubs met in Chicago to lay the groundwork for such an organization and on June 7, 1917, Lions Clubs International was born.  Melvin Jones eventually abandoned his insurance agency to devote himself full time to Lions at International Headquarters in Chicago.  It was under his dynamic leadership that Lions clubs earned the prestige necessary to attract civic-minded members.  The association's founder was also recognized as a leader by those outside the association. One of his greatest honors was in 1945 when he represented Lions Clubs International as a consultant in San Francisco, California, at the organization of the United Nations.  Melvin Jones, the man whose personal code--"You can't get very far until you start doing something for somebody else"--became a guiding principle for public-spirited people the world over.  Melvin Jones died June 1, 1961 at 82 years of age.

Melvin Jones Fellows

2024 - Lester A. Unnerstall
2024 - Ronald J. Williama
2024 - Amy M. Muwnxh-Lixk
2023 - James C. Perry
2023 - Jerry J. Jasper
2022 - D. John Geisert
2022 - Gary L. Marquart
2022 - Larry R. Brinker
2018 - Terry M. Unnerstall
2018 - John E. Griesheimer
2018 - Dr. Howard N. Short
2017 - William H. Dickinson, Jr.
2017 - David A. Hackmann
2016 -John L. Politte
2015 - Melissa A. Carr
2014 - Dr. Kenneth H. Buchmann
2014 - Steven J. Holzem
2014 - James A. Feltmann, Jr.
2014 - Joseph A. Feltmann
2014 - Dennis W. Hemsath
2013 - Dr. Edward O. Obermark
2013 - Jerry G. Brunner
2012 - David C. Bossler
2012 - Bradley G. Mitchell
2011 - Jerome J. Maune
2011 - Dennis W. Hemsath
2010 - Leon P. Hove
2010 - Gerald L. Bayless
2010 - Marvin D. McAdams
2009 - Dr. Michael E. Radetic
2009 - Dr. William C. Huber
2008 - Eric Durchholz
2007 - James A. Feltmann, Sr.
2007 - Donald D. Hahne
2005 - Robert E. Spangler
2005 - Vickie L. Engel
2005 - Dutch H. Borcherding
2003 - Richard W. Hopp
2002 - Dennis W. Hemsath
1999 - Vincent B. Borgerding
1996 - Leon P. Hove
1994 - Thomas W. Sincox
1986 - Peter J. Meyer

Lions Logo